Book Review: Miracle on Christmas Street by Annie O’Neil

Miracle on Christmas StreetMiracle on Christmas Street by Annie O'Neil

Jess has left her much loved job because of a cheese-sandwich related disaster and has moved to Boughton just before Christmas. As she moves into her new house on Christmas Street, she discovers that the street has a living advent calendar – where each of the 24 houses in the close hosts one evening event in the run up to Christmas day. Everyone joins in, apart from the grumpy old man at number 24.

This is a charming story, where you get to know the residents in the street at the same time as Jess does. It’s women’s fiction rather than romance, but there is a strong romantic thread in it. The ending was just lovely.

It’s choc full of Christmassy things. I want one of Rex and Kai’s wreaths. They sound wonderful.

Buy link UK

Buy link US

A New Christmas novella! Christmas For CommitmentphobES -coming soon!

At Christmas time, the last thing you need is more commitments.

Lara is so busy trying to get her fledgling software company off the ground that she’s up in Yorkshire, pitching for business, just before Christmas. When bad weather sees the trains cancelled, the only place she can find shelter is a small pub called the Trewton Arms.

Thilini (‘Tilly’) loves that her art helps feed her travel addiction. She’s back in England for Christmas after two years away and can’t wait to be on the move again. 

When they meet their attraction is hard to deny. But what happens when the trains are running again and they have to go their separate ways?

Christmas for Commitmentphobes is a standalone novella in the Trewton Royd small town romance series. If you like closed door romances, with feisty heroines and realistic dialogue, you’ll love Christmas for Commitmentphobes. Ideal for fans of Lucy Parker or Jackie Lau.

book review: one bed for christmas by jackie lau

One Bed for Christmas (Baldwin Village, #0.5)One Bed for Christmas by Jackie  Lau
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this story!
The basic outline is that Caitlin is a workaholic app developer. Wes is more relaxed and does odd gigs - like dancing in an inflatable dinosaur costume. Caitlin's heating breaks down, so she ends up at Wes's place. It's cold. One bed.

What made the book special was the characters! Caitlin is highly driven, but unable to relax. I liked that she was so confident in her abilities but yet a little vulnerable at the same time.

I loved Wes. He's been in love with Caitlin for ages for a start. I adore a friend to lovers story, so that was perfect for me! He's also fun and goofy and so, so supportive of Caitlin.
I got a free copy of this novella when I signed up to the author's mailing list. I will definitely be reading more from her.

Buy link UK

Buy link US

Christmas At The Palace is on tour this week!

Christmas At The Palace in on tour of some awesome book blogs this week.

It’s already been to:

A Cat, A Book and a cup of tea who gave it 4 cats!

and Jera’s Jamboree 

You can click on the links to read the reviews. (I’ve read them both – over and over… )

Tune in for the rest of the tour.

Did I mention that Christmas At The Palace is available in ebook, paperback AND Audio now? Did I? Oh, okay. As you were.

Book review: Christmas at the Little Village School by Jane Lovering

Christmas at the Little Village School (Choc Lit)Christmas at the Little Village School by Jane Lovering

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This arrived on my Kindle yesterday and I read it as fast as I could. Jane Lovering’s books are an auto buy for me.
Lydia teaches at a school in a tiny village, alongside her fellow teacher Jake. She’s prickly and sharp edged, especially when it comes to Jake. Jake is big and kind without being a pushover. They’ve been tasked with organising the school play at short notice. Given the kids, Christmas, plaster of Paris decorations, an old people’s home and a mysterious man called Gareth, things take a turn for the interesting.
There’s a twist. You find out why Lydia is so prickly part way through the book. It’s kinda hard to tell you about it without giving things away, so I won’t. You’ll just have to read it and find out.

View all my reviews

Amazon US buy link for Christmas at the Little Village School
Amazon UK buy link for Christmas at the Little Village School (Choc Lit)

Book review: The Little Village Christmas by Sue Moorcroft

The Little Village ChristmasThe Little Village Christmas by Sue Moorcroft

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I wanted a nice, Christmassy read and this book delivered exactly that.
Alexia is an interior designer working on a community project in the village. When disaster strikes the project, she rolls up her sleeves and gets on with salvaging what she can.
Ben had been very badly hurt (emotionally) and is going through a messy divorce. He’s been a little reclusive, but has stepped into village life in order to help with the community project. I especially liked Ben because he’s a beta male. Hooray for beta males. He does act like a prat at times, but it’s always understandable in context.

There are lots of animals in this book, including an injured owl called Barney (who is quite a character).
It’s a fabulous way to return to Middledip.

View all my reviews

Amazon buy link for The Little Village Christmas

It’s Christmas novella time!

 

It’s nearly December, so it must be time to break out a Christmas novella or two.

I have two Christmas novellas out this year. Girl At Christmas, which is set in the same world as the other ‘Smart Girls’ series books, and Snowed In, which is set in a fictional town in West Yorkshire. Here they are:

 

As you can see Milly Johnson and Jane Lovering have nice things to say about them, so you might like them too!

Both novellas have slightly geeky characters and at least one South Asian main character.

You can buy them separately or together in this handy ‘box set’. (Technically,  it’s an omnibus edition because it’s not actually in a box … but there aren’t any wheels, so I’m going with box set as a description). You save a quid on the box set compared to getting them separately. Aha, you say. But they’ll be dropping down to 99p soon… except they won’t, because the book promotion sites tend not to take novellas, so it’s not worth the hassle.

AChristmasDuet Box.jpg

Buy Snowed In

Buy Girl At Christmas

Buy the super duper box set

Happy holiday reading!

 

Girl At Christmas is out!

Brown girl and Christmas tree

Hooray! Girl At Christmas is available to buy now.

Girl at christmas cover w quote

If you like your Christmas novellas with a side order of beta hero and warm humour, then this is the book for you.

Here are some (very) early review quotes:

“Fresh and Fun.” Goodreads review

” … real, ordinary people, with real, ordinary lives, they are honest and believable.” Amazon review

“Simple truth about your day to day life that any woman can relate with” Amazon India review

And of course, the quote on the cover from the fabulous Jane Lovering – who knows a thing or two about writing rom coms: “Warm, witty, cute and Christmassy. I just loved it!”

So, go buy:

Amazon.com

Amazon.co.uk

Everywhere else (Kobo, Ibooks etc)

I hope you have as much fun reading it as I had writing it.

It’s Christmas novella time! Girl At Christmas is out soon.

It’s that time of year when everyone starts thinking about Christmas. I’ve got not one, but TWO Christmas novellas coming out in the next month. The first one is out next week.

Girl at christmas cover w quote.jpg

Blurb

Tammy is normally at her happiest at Christmas when she has the flat to decorate and those perfect days between Christmas and New Year to relax. But when her long term partner dumps her with no real explanation, her Christmas starts to look very bleak.

Lawrence usually spends Christmas watching DVDs and catching up on his paperwork. At thirty one, he’s already stuck in a rut.

When Lawrence has a sudden heart attack, it is Tammy who comes to his rescue. It turns out a happy Christmas can be made from the most unexpected ingredients.

 

You can preorder it  now – or just order it in the normal way next week.

Amazon US

Amazon UK 

Everywhere else: